Excellence for all and excellence from all

PSE / Welsh Baccalaureate

The Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification is a qualification for 14-19 year old students in Wales.

It aims to achieve a broader, more balanced curriculum for 14-19 year olds, helping students to develop knowledge and skills that higher education and employers want them to have when they leave school.

The Welsh Baccalaureate consists of two parts:


Consisting of five components:

  • Key Skills
  • Wales, Europe and the World
  • Work Related Education
  • Personal and Social Education
  • Higher Project, a stand-alone qualification, worth ½ GCSE

Options - Students KS4 Courses

Together the Core and Options make up the Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification.